What Are Chakras?

Written by Anne M
March 29, 2022

What are Chakras?

Chakras refer to the Sanskrit word for “wheel” or “disc”. They represent the energetic centers of our body and are sited where the nerve endings meet. These pressure points are where our life force is said to flow through us.

Both Hindu and Buddhist believe that when our Chakras become blocked, it can affect our body mentally, physically and emotionally. The only way that we can clear and prevent future issues, is by maintaining wellness in all Chakras of the body.


The 7 Chakras.

There are 7 main Chakras in the body ranging from our head to the base of our spine. Each has its own unique function, colour, and location. Instead of starting from the top-down, Chakras are numbered in the opposite direction, starting at the base of the spine and ending with the head.


➀ The Root Chakra.

Located at the base of the spine (tail-bone), the root chakra is the first of seven. It’s represented by the colour red and is known to regulate feelings of safety, our sense of instinct and grounding.

How do we know it’s out of balance?

We begin to experience symptoms such as:

  • Anxiety
  • Hopelessness
  • Loneliness
  • Difficulty letting things go
  • We’re unfocused
  • Low energy or mood
  • Skeletal issues such as arthritis, painful joints, etc
➁ The Sacral Chakra.

The second chakra is located in the pelvis and is associated with the color orange. It’s directly connected to the adrenal glands, which are responsible for producing a variety of hormones. This chakra is also connected to our genitals and urinary organs (also known as the genitourinary system).

This chakra is responsible for the regulation of emotional and sexual needs, and our creativity and confidence.

When out of balance in this chakra you may experience the following:

  • Emotional imbalance
  • Loneliness
  • You may struggle with addictions
  • Lack of motivation
  • Little or no interest in sex
  • Lack of confidence and creativity
  • Feelings of worthlessness
  • Feeling that you’re useless and unloved

It’s also common to hear of people experiencing dysfunctional relationships due to an imbalance in the Sacral Chakra.

➂ The Solar Plexus.

Our third chakra is known as the Solar Plexus. It’s found under the ribs and is represented by the colour yellow. Due to its location, it’s often easy to interpret what this chakra is linked to. It deals primarily with our digestive system, and regulates the sense of fear, power, and our ‘gut feelings’.

When out of balance you may experience:

  • Anxiety
  • Feeling constantly on edge or afraid
  • Eating disorders
  • Low self-esteem
  • Lack of self-confidence
  • Low self-respect
  • Issues with the liver, digestion, weight balance, asthma, and even diabetes.
➃ Heart Chakra.

The fourth chakra is known as the heart chakra. As the name suggests, it’s situated in the center of the chest and is represented by the colour green. It represents love, compassion, and connection with both ourselves and others.

A blocked heart chakra can often be felt physically as well as emotionally and mentally. You may experience the following:

  • Poor Circulation
  • High/Low blood pressure
  • Various heart and lung conditions
  • Feeling worthless
  • An unhealthy dependence on others
  • Inability to trust ourselves or others
➄ Throat Chakra.

The throat chakra is our fifth chakra, and as the name suggests it can be found in the throat. It’s represented by the colour blue, and is responsible for the thyroid gland, feelings of safety, power and the way in which we express ourselves.

When this chakra is out of balance you may feel:

  • Anxious
  • Depressed or ‘blue’
  • Stuck in a rut
  • Insecure
  • Low self-esteem
  • Low self-confidence
  • Hormone fluctuations
  • Difficulty listening and taking in what others are saying
➅ Third-Eye Chakra.

The sixth chakra is the Third-Eye, and it can be found between our eye-brows. It’s represented by the colour indigo and is connected to the pineal gland. The Third Eye is known for regulating our spirituality, our thoughts, hopes, and dreams.

When out of balance, expect to experience:

  • Cynical thoughts and feelings.
  • Headaches or tension
  • Vision problems (caused by the tension)
  • Feelings of being lost
  • Insomnia or difficulty getting to and staying asleep
➆ Crown Chakra.

The seventh and final chakra is the Crown chakra. It’s located at the crown of the head and is associated with the color violet. The Crown Chakra is connected to the pituitary gland and nervous system and is often associated with wisdom, cosmic energy and our sense of awareness.

Signs that your crown chakra is blocked.

  • Headaches
  • Fatigue
  • Mental illness such as depression and anxiety
  • Feelings of hopelessness
  • A lack of perspective


You can learn more about Chakras by taking one of our courses here


Happy Mother’s Day?

Happy Mother's Day?   This can bring up so much emotion for good and for bad.If you know my story, then you will know my Mother was only 14yrs when she gave birth to me! Imagine the fear and terror, she was still a child.I was taken from her, unwilling, and given up...

What Type of Hero Are You?

You are a hero!   Let’s face it, we all know that life is never going to be all smooth sailing and the odd difficulty and curve ball coming our way is pretty much inevitable, and never more so than over the past months with all the uncertainty of the pandemic. ...

It’s time to discover your true soul purpose

Do you find yourself wishing for something more in life?  Whether it’s relationships, career or something that will help you to feel more fulfilled and give you more purpose, if you’re feeling restless and searching for that elusive ‘something’, it’s likely that deep...

Related Posts

Happy Mother’s Day?

Happy Mother’s Day?

Happy Mother's Day?   This can bring up so much emotion for good and for bad.If you know my story, then you will know my Mother was only 14yrs when she gave birth to me! Imagine the fear and terror, she was still a child.I was taken from her, unwilling, and given up...

read more



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *